Fort Stanwix National Monument & Museum

315-338-7730
Contact Author

Ft Stanwix 2

Known as “the fort that never surrendered,” Fort Stanwix, under the command of Col. Peter Gansevoort, successfully repelled a prolonged siege, in August 1777, by British, German, Loyalist, Canadian, and American Indian troops and warriors commanded by British Gen. Barry St. Leger. Troops from Fort Stanwix also participated in the 1779 Clinton-Sullivan Campaign and protected America’s northwest frontier from British campaigns until finally being abandoned in 1781.

The Willett Center museum opened on July 1, 2005. Marinus Willett Collections Management and Education Center embodies the mission of the National Park Service at Fort Stanwix National Monument; to preserve our national resources and to provide an enjoyable educational experience for this and future generations. Within the Willett Center, Fort Stanwix National Monument will store and preserve its 485,000 artifacts and documents inside a state-of-the-art collection facility. The exhibits within the building explore the story of Fort Stanwix and the Mohawk Valley through the eyes of the people who lived in New York during the American Revolutionary War.


Business Fort Stanwix National Monument
Address

100 S James St.
Rome, NY 13440

Phone 315-338-7730
Website Visit Link Here
Category , , , , , , , , , ,